Empowering Tomorrow's Leaders

K-12 Leadership Entrepreneurship Academic Development Center

Public Speaking

The 1st Annual Ames Hy-Vee Public Speaking Contest was held on Saturday, January 19, 2008 at the Gilbert Lutheran Church. It was attended by over 23 students and their families. The event began with a 45-min workshop followed by a contest. The students were grouped according to grade levels 3rd - 8th grade. They competed in one of the following four categories: poetry, prose, public or original address. Every participant was awarded a medal or a trophy, a ribbon and a certificate.


Mrs. Hope Bossard, Curriculum Director, Gilbert Community Schools and Mr. Rich Simmons of Ames Hy-Vee, were invited guests that assisted in the award ceremony. Mrs. Bossard, was awarded a plaque for her support of educational activities for the Gilbert Schools and their learning communities.

The Public Speaking Contest was sponsored by Ames Hy-Vee and hosted by the 4-H and the Gilbert Academy. Vellareddy Anantharam, Ph.D. Jean Saveraid, MS and Mullai Sritharan were the organizers of the contest. Valerie Goodman, MA. and Tanya J Austin, MS, faculty members from Iowa State were workshop coordinators.

The following invitees judged the competition: Lisa Jane Gildehaus, Hope Bossard and JenniferSchnormeier teachers from Gilbert Schools; Matt Morain, Christopher Anderson and Eric Sims Brown, graduate students from the Dept. of English, ISU; Shane Bugeja and Jessi Mullenbach students of Gilbert High School.


The following are the winners of the competition:

3rd Grade: Champion, Paulina Lavrova, 2nd place, Cody Dvorak and 3rd place, Krishan Sritharan.

4th Grade: Champions, Kristy Ihle and Kristen Kemp, 2nd place, Austin Graber.

5th Grade: Champion, Ellie Jennett, 2nd place, Lydia Lavrova and 3rd place, Annika Rotto.

6th Grade: Champion, Maia Davis, 2nd place, Nolan Adair

7th Grade: Champion, Puneet Anantharam, 2nd place, Syed Umar Farooq

8th Grade: Champion, Sarah Baker, 2nd place, Joey Metzger and 3rd place, Coleman Jackson.