Empowering Tomorrow's Leaders

K-12 Leadership Entrepreneurship Academic Development Center

Math Bowl

The 2nd Annual Greater Iowa Credit Union Math Bowl was held on Saturday, February 28, 2009 at the Gilbert Lutheran Church. It was attended by over 20 students and their families. The students were grouped according to grade level, third through fifth grade and sixth through eighth grade. They competed in one round-robin rounds and two buzzer rounds. Every participant was awarded a ribbon, medal or trophy and a certificate.

Edward Kaizer, Director, Iowa Knowledge Bowl and Linda Gibbs of Great Iowa Credit union were invited guests who assisted in the award ceremony. Kaizer was awarded a plaque for his support of educational activities for the Gilbert Schools and their learning communities. Holland Dougherty, freshman at Iowa State was awarded the plaque for her outstanding academic accomplishments and in appreciation of her volunteering at the Gilbert Academy events. Sarah Azam (freshman), Chester Fisher (sophomore), Joshua Lenz (senior) and Kylee Van Engelenhoven (senior) of Gilbert High School were moderators.

The Math Bowl was sponsored by Greater Iowa Credit Union and hosted by the 4-H and Gilbert Academy. Vellareddy Anantharam, Jean Saveraid and Mullai Sritharan were the organizers of the Math Bowl.

The following were the winners of the competition:

Grade 3-5:
Team Champions: Christian Harder, Krishan Sritharan and Garret White.
Runner-up: Sinjin Briggs, Ibby Culek and Bryleigh Janvrin
Third place team: Jack Kazwell, Grant Petersen and Sam Sells.

Grades 6-8:
Team Champions: Puneet Anantharam, Syed Umar Farooq and Sam Mosiman.
Runner-up: Robert Valencia Cook, Ryan Gallus, Jacee Lenz and Nathan Kimle
Third place team: Taymon Ayers, Chris Culek and Aaron Sacks